Sunday, 6 January 2019

IELTS Test Format and Scoring System

In the IELTS exams, irrespective of which category (whether Academic or General), you will be tested in four different areas, viz:
  • Writing 
  • Reading
  • Speaking 
  • Listening
On each of these areas you are given a band score from 1 to 9. For example, a candidate may have a band score of 8 in writing, 7.5 in reading, 7 in speaking and 7.5 in listening. The average of these different  scores would then be used to determine his overall band score.

You may want to ask: How do I know which band score is the pass mark? This is a very vital question. However, it should be noted that there is no fixed pass mark for the IELTS test. It depends on the institution/organisation you are applying to. Some organistions/institutions may require that you get an overall band score of say 7.0, irrespective of your scores in the four different areas. Whereas, some other organisations may require that you have a minimum score of say 6.5 in each area. So you see, the pass mark you need depends on the organisation/institution you are applying to. Consequently, you are advised to get in touch with your institution or organisation in order to determine the pass mark you must have.


1 comment:

  1. With AIGRADE ,I have learnt a lot on how to pass the ielts text with ease.